Tip of the Day: Save Your Shots

If you accidentally hit the camera’s Delete button and flush the wrong image, don’t panic, but do stop shooting immediately. Deleted images do not disappear at once—the space they occupy on the memory card is “overwritten” by another image. If you quit shooting before that happens you can usually recover the missing file(s) using one of the many aftermarket software products like Lexar’s Image Rescue 3 ($30, direct). —Jon Sienkiewicz

If you accidentally hit the camera's Delete button and flush the wrong image, don't panic, but do stop shooting immediately. Deleted images do not disappear at once—the space they occupy on the memory card is "overwritten" by another image. If you quit shooting before that happens you can usually recover the missing file(s) using one of the many aftermarket software products like Lexar's Image Rescue 3 ($30, direct).
—Jon Sienkiewicz